The Plan

Due to state-wide budget cuts in Education, I was laid-off at the end of June.  I’m having mixed feelings about the whole thing. There is a small part of me that is upset, as the job itself seemed tailor-made to my strengths and talents. Another piece of me is anxious and nervous about what lies ahead. But mostly, I am trying to see it as a blessing. I am one of those people who believes everything happens for a reason. And in this case, I think it was time for me to move on to the next phase of my life. That job (and living in Visalia) was good for me when I needed to get back on my feet and learn how to take care of myself. Now, I’m ready to do something exciting. Ready to branch out of my comfort zone a little more.

One thing that is beneficial about my unemployment is the timing. Right when I decide to take matters of my health and body image into my own hands, I suddenly have the time available to devote myself to that goal. Now that I’m not working, I have no excuse not to exercise every day. I also can be more mindful about what I put in my body because I am not really ever rushing to get anywhere.

The plan for this month doesn’t really involve anything major, but I am hoping the results will be significant.

For the next 30 days, I will try to make most (if not all) of my meals at home. I will be mindful of what ingredients I use, mindful of how I eat my meals (chewing slowly, finishing when I’m full, etc) and I will exercise at least once a day. I also plan on writing everything down, just because the few times I did Weight Watchers, that always seemed to help.

And that’s it.

My therapist and I have talked about how my obsessive tendencies lead me to not be a good candidate for handling dieting well. She has suggested that if I ever truly want to kick my bad habits, I need to simply teach myself how to use food as nourishment only. Any and all food; not just whatever is deemed the healthy diet of the moment. They say doing something for 30 days can form a habit. So, for the next month, I will focus on eating mindfully at each meal and see what results that yields. And if that  doesn’t work, we’ll try something else.

I should mention here that this is the last post I will advertise on Facebook (unless I write something absolutely brilliant that everyone needs to see). If you want to keep up with my journey, either join my followers by clicking the button at the bottom of the page, or just check back every few days.

Many of you have been sending me private notes of encouragement. Some of you have even shared your own food/body related issues with me. Please…keep sharing! It gives me the courage to continue telling my story, and it really helps to know I’m not the only one out there.

4 responses to “The Plan

  1. Hey gorgeous,

    You inspire the hell out of me- I started a blog years ago but stopped writing altogether because I fell so far down the proverbial rabbit hole I wasn’t sure how to start writing again. Your honesty and love of sharing has just thrown out a rope and I am climbing up. I have a TON of eating stories to share with you, just let me know where to start since I have the Cliff’s Notes version at my fingertips. Love you!

    • haleytheconquerer

      See, you’re one of those people I would never guess had “eating” stories because you always look so damn hot every time I see you! One of the most important things I’m learning through this journey is that you can never tell who has it ‘all figured out’ just by looking at them. There’s just no way of knowing. xoxo

  2. Wow! I had no idea that you had this site! what a great a beautiful idea. I love your thoughts on..just about everything and can’t wait to read more and more! i would have never known about it unless you posted on fb…so don’t feel self conscious. let the world know who you are and what you think and don’t be ashamed to let people know.
    soo…crazy fucked up and sad that the man in the government took down your job. you were in the arts so as we know, that tends to be inevitable. however, what a bummer. that being said , i am confident your God will provide you with new and exciting adventures. with every door closed another is open because, in my eyes, God knows you are ready for the next thing in your life. though the transition can be painful, even heartbreaking and bewildering, it’s kind of cool because it means that you are evolving. and i believe all the things you have learned in this job is just preparing you for the next.
    in regards to the food thing..might i suggest checking out the “joy diet”. which is basically loving yourself and accepting yourself to the point where you get connected to your natural inclination to take care of yourself and do the right thing . it’s when we obsess and criticize ourself that we knock our natural order out of whack. you should good it, i haven’t read the book, since i don’t read a lot, but i read excerpts and i think it might help your over all goal in life, not only with the weight thing but everything else.

    • haleytheconquerer

      Thanks for the kind words, lady! I WILL check out that book. It sounds like something right up my alley.
      Miss you! Wish I could afford the trip down to see you play on Monday….one of these days…

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 22 other followers

